getting-an-sr-twotwo

GETTING AN SR-22

SR-22 is a Certificate

SR22 Is a Rider to Your Auto Policy

Fee to File

Your Auto Insurance Rates May Go Up

SR-22 Depends on Incident

Generally Required for 3-10 Years

can-i-drive-after-a-dui

CAN I DRIVE AFTER A DUI?

In California, if a breath, or chemical, test shows a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, your driver's license will be taken away and you may be issued a temporary license at the time of your arrest. Typically, the temporary driver's license allows you to drive for 30 days following your arrest for DUI.

driving-privileges-after-a-dui-or-license-suspension

DRIVING PRIVILEGES AFTER A DUI OR LICENSE SUSPENSION

In 2013, research by the American Automobile Association showed that a driving-under-the-influence, or DUI, conviction in California could cost approximately $15,469 or more in legal fees, fines, restitution and increased insurance costs.

CALL

You will need to inform your auto insurance company of your DUI violation. In California, it is illegal for any individual 21 years old or older to operate any regular passenger motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher.

Your driving privilege will be suspended for four (4) months for the first offense and one (1) year for 1 or more separate offenses in 10 years.

DUI SENTENCING

The severity of your punishment is based on the severity of your offense. The fine for a first-time DUI conviction can range from $390 to $1,000. Convicted drivers can generally count on an additional penalty assessment fee that can be 3X this range.

The total estimated DUI cost in California, for a first-time DUI offense, is $8,966, which includes:

  • Fines and/or penalties—$1,500
  • Towing or impound fees—$215
  • Court filing costs—$800
  • Court-referred treatment program cost—$626
  • Restitution fund—$500
  • DUI legal fees—$2,500
  • Insurance premium increase—$2,700
  • DMV reissue fee—$125

DRIVING

A DMV may require an SR-22 from a driver to reinstate his or her driving privileges following an uninsured car accident or conviction of another traffic-related offense, such as a DUI.

If you don’t own a car, you may qualify for a non-owner SR-22 car insurance policy. The non-owner’s policy only covers a person for liability; if you cause an accident, the liability-only policy covers the expenses of the other party, such as vehicle damage and personal injury but not damage to the vehicle. If an interlock device has been court-ordered, you may not qualify for a non-owners SR-22 policy. 

find-auto-insurance-after-a-dui

Don’t be too embarrased to start shopping for the best car insurance and best rates for an SR-22 after your DUI!

about-best-sr-twotwo-insurance

SOME FACTS ABOUT US

You, or someone you know, did something stupid. Hopefully, there were no serious injuries. We offer rates from insurance companies authorized to do business in California. Each insurance carrrier will evaluate your risk as a driver as they see fit; we have over 150 programs that can fit every budget.

1421

California Clients Helped

365

Cups of Coffee Drank

150

Insurance Programs to Help

follow-us

FOLLOW US

Tag us, @DriveEpic on Twitter and Instagram and tell us, or show us, how you #DriveEpic!

SAY HELLO!

Located in Southern California, we serve the entire State and can rate for every carrier authorized to do business in California. We provide the best SR-22 insurance service and rates throughout California!